New to unschooling - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 11-14-2013, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Well, I'm kind of new to it. I have been homeschooling for 18 years and one of the first books I read was John Holt's Teach You Own and I've applied many of the things I learned in that book and other unschooling books. But I always went back to my schoolish ways of teaching my kids-and I felt pressured from others. This year has been different though. Durring the summer I planned my curriculum, but when it was time to start I decided to let my younger 2 kids learn what they wanted to instead-except for math and some spelling with my daughter. I've been reading a lot about radical unschooling and I'm not sure that I want to go that far (not sure). I have seen many changes in me during this time, but I'm still having a hard time with letting my 13 play video games all day if he wants to. Anyway, I'm going to be meeting with a potential new evaluator soon, and she has lots of questions so I want to be ready. Nice to "meet" you all!

#2 of 4 Old 11-14-2013, 03:58 PM

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)