Anyone else Unschooling in NY? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 01-30-2014, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

This post is part rant and part plea for advice...

We unschool and because we live in NY we have to file LOTS of paperwork with our school district. For that reason, I'd really like to hear from other NY unschoolers who have figured out how to handle this.

We just started this year (age 6, K) and because I am a NYS certifiable teacher in early childhood ed I know the learning standards and all the fancy education lingo and bull...so I had no problem with age-appropriate goals for the IHIP. But these quarterly reports are just freaking ridiculous! I mean, seriously...my kids don't make very notable progress in 2 months! Sometimes there's barely any change for months at a time and then, bam, they'll get an interest and surge ahead! It's called REAL learning, not forced learning. Ugh.

I am considering just buying a common homeschooling curriculum and just (lying) reporting that we're doing that. That would be so much easier. Right now I'm reporting every nuance of their learning and their quarterly reports are 4 pages each! Is that too long? I've never seen a sample not written to following a curriculum program, so I don't know. Here is a sample paragraph:

"Mathematics:

Number identification: 0-10, counts to 20, writes numbers 0-8 (copying 1-20), addition 1-3 or so (beginning), subtraction of 1-2 only (beginning), fractions: understands ½ and sometimes ¼ (beginning), patterns (intermediate), time-telling: understands how to read hour on analog and digital clocks (beginning), coin identification: penny, sometimes quarter (beginning), calendar skills: we do the calendar daily (beginning).