unschooling and becoming unbalanced - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-09-2004, 12:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am very interested in unschooling but I'm afraid that my son's education will become unbalanced. He is almost eight and reads at a sixth grade level but really hates to write. I'm afraid that if I left writing up to him, he would never write.

Unschooling feels right because I trust that it is an inate human characteristic to explore and learn. As long as a child is given freedom to explore and all the materials they need learning will take place. However, his education is my responsibility and I don't want to do anything that would jeopardize his future.

I myself have been an unschooler for the past ten years and have learned so much, but my education IS unbalanced. I have specialties but still lack in certain areas. For example: I'm a great writer but my spelling is terrible. I sing well, but can not play an instument.

Please offer your wisdom on this subject.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-09-2004, 05:15 PM

"He is almost eight and reads at a sixth grade level but really hates to write. I'm afraid that if I left writing up to him, he would never write."

We were just discussing this very subject at my local unschooling playgroup! One mother was talking about how her son is a voracious reader but finds it painful to write. She was worried about this until her husband (who is a writer) pointed out that he had been the same at that age, and that the problem was that he had nothing interesting to write about. So instead he spent all of his energy soaking up literature like a sponge, and learning about writing that way, and eventually he got the point where he had some of his own thoughts he wanted to record, and having that goal and desire made writing a compelling activity for him.