The difference between unschooling & homeschooling? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 39 Old 07-09-2004, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello all!

Wanted to know if anyone could clarify for me the difference between unschooling and homeschooling and the philosophy behind each?

I'd appreciate your insight
#2 of 39 Old 07-09-2004, 11:16 AM

Homeschooling is providing your child with an education mainly at home (of course some of it happens in the community as well). Unschooling is a type of homeschooling that is child-led learning. Other types of homeschooling are parent-led.

~ Amy ~

Homeschooling Mom of

ds 16, ds14, ds9, dd6

#3 of 39 Old 07-09-2004, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter

Thanks!

How does that work exactly? Unschooling, I mean.

Bear with me...I am very new to all of this.
#4 of 39 Old 07-09-2004, 11:21 AM

a good book

www.unschooling.com

The Unschoolers Handbook
#5 of 39 Old 07-09-2004, 11:32 AM

I have the Unschooler's Handbook on loan from the library right now. It's great. My biggest challenge is to not act annoyed when every tiny act I do is met with a long stream of questions. Unschooling seems to be a lifestyle, not schooling from age 5 to 18. My take is that you are supposed to foster your child's endless curioisity (think of a 2yo, that kind of desire to learn) by:
1. answering their questions lovingly, no matter how constant they are
2. model learning for them by reading and doing interesting things for yourself
3. strew their paths with a variety of educational things: books you think they might like, paints, measuring cups, rulers, puzzles, blocks, etc.