Do you refer to yourself as a WAHM for H/Unschooling? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-06-2005, 07:24 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I was recently asked if I work.
I said yes,that I am a homeschool teacher.
Next question was, do I get paid.
No, not collecting S.S. we are a one-income family.
The person said she didn't consider HSing to mean that I *work at home*.

I know there are many of you that earn an income and teach. So, my question isn't really for you.

Does anyone else have an opinion about this. Just curious.

mp
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-06-2005, 08:14 PM

I don't consider home educating our children as a WAHM job. I consider it being a parent doing her job. When I think of WAHM I think of an income earning mom. If you consider yourself as a working mom, that's really what matters.

Ahhh tea the essence of life.
Old 05-06-2005, 08:15 PM

I don't really have an opinion. I try not to get caught up in the labeling re: moms and where/how they conduct their activities. I don't feel it's really useful in helping to create a dynamic that's supportive of *every* mother.

That said, I wonder who is asking you if you work and whether or not you get paid. That person needs a serious manners lesson. If someone were to ask me those things they would likely get an earful unrelated to mothers, unschooling, working, earnings, or really anything other than what they were hoping or assuming they'd hear.
Old 05-06-2005, 08:36 PM

No. I refer to myself as a SAHM. To *me* , (meaning for MYSELF), I feel referring to myself as a WAHM is taking away from the HARD work I do as a SAHM. It's like I'm trying to measure up or something. But that's my personal take on it.
Old 05-06-2005, 08:46 PM

I consider myself a SAHM, and sometimes refer to myself as a homeschooling mom, but not a WAHM. The WAHM label implies employment, imo.

As an aside, I also never call myself a teacher.