Need advise quickly please... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 12-11-2003, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi,
I am a student doula and I just attended my first birth last month. The baby was a boy, and the mama new that ahead of time so during our prenatal meetings we discussed circumcision, and I gave her information about leaving her son intact. She said she wanted him to be circ'd but didn't give a reason, and we discussed at least delaying circ. until he was "old enough for pain meds":
She ended up not circing at the hospital, and I was thrilled b/c I have never known anyone who actually had it done after taking baby home, bonding, ect. (aside from religious reasons).
Anyway, we spoke yesterday and she has an appt. with a dr. to circ him on fri. She said "I am just dreading this b/c I don't want him to be in pain." And I told her that I understood and that it would hurt.
Would it be wrong for me to call her and try to talk her out of this? If I just say-- you seem to have reservations about this...why do you feel it must be done?
Oh, and she told me her baby has very little foreskin but the dr. said "there's enough to cut--if there's any foreskin you can cut it "
Sorry so long....
#2 of 10 Old 12-11-2003, 11:08 AM

Let me turn the question around on you. If she was Muslim, had a daughter and was taking her to a middle eastern country to have her circumcised, would you hesitate to speak up? Would you call the police or the prosecutor to protect this girl? Why should it be any different for a boy? Why does he not deserve an advocate? Would you feel worse if you did speak up or if you didn't. How long will you feel guilt if you say nothing? What if the child finds you in 20 years and asks why you didn't speak up for him? How will you respond?