Mothering Forum banner

Infant circumcision causes over 100 deaths per year

5K views 35 replies 29 participants last post by  Quirky 
#1 ·
#3 ·
Wow! I knew that circ could result in death, but I always thought it was a very VERY rare thing. 117 from circumcision complications, 115 from SIDS, 44 from suffocation, 8 from auto accidents. This blows my mind. Thank you for sharing.

I wonder where are those families? Why aren't they protesting, on the news, writing books, shouting from the rooftops?

#7 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by Pirogi View Post
I wonder what the incidence of non-lethal complications is? (Other than the obvious 100% of circumcised males have healthy tissue removed. )
i'd assume quite a lot (not that i'm an expert) because if you think about it , it's an open sore and it's in constant contact with wee and pooh, i've heard of people having cuts on their hands getting infected from coming into contact with these things so i can only imagine what almost constant contact would do

#8 ·
Quote:

I wonder where are those families? Why aren't they protesting, on the news, writing books, shouting from the rooftops?
In some cases, I'm guessing they are sworn to silence by their lawyers, as part of a settlement with doctors/hospitals.

#9 ·
Quote:

Wow! I knew that circ could result in death, but I always thought it was a very VERY rare thing. 117 from circumcision complications, 115 from SIDS, 44 from suffocation, 8 from auto accidents. This blows my mind. Thank you for sharing.

The AAP issued a warning about the choking hazards of hotdogs and grapes. Its mortality rate is the same as circumcision. Wheres that warning AAP?

Not one man/child/infant has ever died from having a complete set of male genitals.

You'd think an ELECTIVE procedure that can result in death would be banned by now. ?!

#10 ·
Quote:

My nephew died at 10 days old from massive sepsis of an "unknown origin." The only wound on his body was his circ.