Son has a sore under his foreskin - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 11-13-2010, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My son is almost 8 and intact. He mentioned to me last night that his penis was hurting (also mentioned some pain in his groin, which I chalked up to a strained muscle) and then this morning he told me he saw some blood when he pulled the skin back. I took a look at it and there is a "slice" (about 1/4" or so) right where the foreskin meets the body of the penis. It is a little red as you would imagine, but the redness is very localized with no streaking or spreading from the immediate area. There was no active bleeding or oozing of any kind. He denies any type of trauma or any idea where it came from. He says he just noticed it yesterday morning and that it feels like it is getting better today. It doesn't look infected (I am a nurse, but I only work with women currently so this is NOT my area of expertise), but I am just concerned because I don't know what would cause a wound like this to occur. He does not routinely retract his foreskin and clean under it, although I have suggested that he do so. I sent him to the shower to get cleaned up and told him we would keep an eye on it and see if it gets better/worse.