Anyone Seen This Yet? SF Proposes Circ Ban - Mothering Forums
1 2 
The Case Against Circumcision > Anyone Seen This Yet? SF Proposes Circ Ban
anony's Avatar anony 10:30 PM 11-16-2010

http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2010/11/12/health/main7048210.shtml

Even if it doesn't pass, this is a sign of progression that this would even be discussed! The woman defending it comes off as pretty uninformed but the guy proposing the ban points out a few of the double standards. In the news piece, you can see how far brainwashing it as normal has gone because some people feel it goes too far. I'm not a proponent of government banning things and telling people what to do cause i'm a bit libertarian. But this isn't that. It's not the personal choice of the child who gets cut. The sad part i doctors forcing the issue have made many parents believe it is the right thing. Those on the fence do it because a doc convinces them and they are just pawns in the whole situation. Any bill banning circ is not an attack on parents, it's an attack on outdated medical beliefs as I see it.

And while one can deem it a slippery slope between this and legislating parenting, there are already measures that prevent tattooing, spanking, teaching hateful doctrine, etc. Some of this has people thinking it's nanny state stuff but I believe we as a society are better off. The only thing that gets to hide behind it is religion but in non-religious cases, I don't see circumcision being a fair personal choice because babies and young children are not making the final say. Why is this any different? It's forcing beliefs on the child and while all of us grow up believing a lot of what our parents teach us, it is ok unless it does not preach harm to an individual. This is an interesting battle of individual rights (specifically those who can't speak up for themselves) vs. the power of culture mentality.

TyrantOfTheWeek's Avatar TyrantOfTheWeek 06:13 AM 11-17-2010

I think it's an awesome start.