Refused to help with a circ today, rather long vent... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 30 Old 06-28-2011, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi all!

I am a seasoned OB nurse, and, after some time away from work due to a move and being a SAHM, I started working again this month at a very small regional hospital as a contingent nurse.  Where I worked before, I was not expected to assist with circumcision, as this was the responsibility of the tech in the nursery.  I have a strong personal belief about circumcision--I will not participate in this procedure.

Anyhow, I had a baby boy in my care today, and I refused to help with the circ (restraining, etc). The pediatrician responded very angrily that it wasn't ok for me to refuse.  I replied that, in fact, it was, since I had been told at my HR orientation that if I was uncomfortable with something I was asked to do, I was supported in declining, as long as it was not endangering/delaying care/etc.  Another nurse was willing to help, so she stepped in. I stood by to ask the other nurse some questions about the after-care protocol at this institution, as the ped muttered about how I'd get along with the "anti-circ" pediatrician in his office.  He then asked me if I had children, and where I took them for medical care.