flawed hiv study; now what about cancer? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 07-04-2011, 06:51 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have been trying to figure out what to say to people who still believe circ helps prevent cancer in both the man and the partner. I can discount the transmission of hiv, and cancer in the man's penis, but what about those who think it prevents transmission of the virus that causes cancer to the woman?

I only have daughters and it's so frustrating trying to teach people about something I have no experience with!

drowning in hormones with 4 daughters and an understanding, loving hubby. also some dogs. my life is crazy and we are always learning.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 3 Old 07-04-2011, 03:00 PM

Do you mean HPV? That's disprovable, too.

The association between circumcision and lessened chances of HPV came about because there was observed an association between being Jewish and lower incidences of cervical cancer. However, it was determined later that many Jewish women of Ashkenazic descent are more resistant to cervical cancer, as a similar association between circumcision and lower incidence of cervical cancer was not seen amongst Muslim families.

Also, as I just saw in a link to the Elephant in the Hospital YouTube video that's posted on the front page of this forum right now, it was shown that circumcised men and their wives had different strains of HPV present -- so the presumed association between circumcision and lower HPV transmission was not shown by that study.

Totally anecdotal, but I and many other women have gotten HPV from circumcised partners. The thing about HPV is that it's REALLY hard to avoid, even with condoms --- it's totally easy to spread by pretty much any skin to genital contact, so really circumcision wouldn't provide a whole lot of protection anyway.

More here: http://www.cirp.org/library/disease/cancer/