Reoccurring UTI in intact baby boy - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 12-07-2011, 02:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Newbie here! Sorry if this is long, but I need get the whole story out to get the best advice! My son is now 9.5 months old and is intact. At around 3 months old he began to act very fussy ( out of the ordinary) so I took him to the doc and everything seemed fine no fever or anything but she thought we should do a urine test just to rule out a uti. We collected a sample with the bag and it came back as e-coli being cultured. Doc was quite surprised but we did a trial of antibiotics to be sure. Fussiness went away and he was doing fine. Then at 5 months old I dropped off another sample just for my own piece of mind and that he was again acting weird and it came back e-coli again! So we did antibiotics again. She consulted with pedi's and they all came to the conclusion that it was probably skin contamination because the never developed a fever.

Then at 7 months he was again acting fussy, but I brushed it off as teething because of what the doc had said. Well, that night he spiked a fever and we were ended up in emerg. They did a catheter sample this time to avoid possible skin contamination and it came back as a raging UTI that cultured e-coli again! We did antibiotics again (a different one this time), we went and had a kidney ultrasound and a UVCG done and everything came back perfectly normal. They also did another urine test while the catheter was still in for the UVCG and it came back completely normal, UTI was cleared up! Yah!