I am trying to decide whether to circumcise - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 81 Old 01-31-2012, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

So, I am new to Mothering but I'm pregnant and am having a boy. I'm trying to decide whether or not to circumcise. We're not religious, but I want him to look like his father, who is circumcised. I have done a lot of reading on the internet and am pretty convinced that there's no medical reason to circumcise. In fact, I found a blog post on this that I wanted to share. She says that there's really no evidence to support circumcising.

http://www.squintmom.com/?p=442

The thing is, though, I don't know if I believe that circumcision is really harmful. It just doesn't seem like with most of the men in the US walking around circumcised and they're not complaining (it seems like it's women who freak out about it more than men), is it really a problem?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 81 Old 01-31-2012, 11:50 AM

if there is no medical reason to do a cosmetic surgery on your infant just a day old, why would you? if later when he is big he wants to get cic'd that would be his choice, but to do it to an infant who has no say and has nothing the matter with him... why? so he looks like someone else? will you clip his ears if they look different? or some other drastic un-nneeded procedure so he looks like everyone else?

mama to 6 amazing children joy.gif married to my main man for 21 years love.gif and finally home FULL time dishes.gifhang.gifknit.gif

#3 of 81 Old 01-31-2012, 12:12 PM