UTI in Newborns? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 11-22-2006, 02:56 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok, I started thinking about this earlier. Are there any alternative treatments to try when you think a newbie/infant might have a UTI?
I only ask cause there were times I thought maybe one of my babies had one because of fussing, but they had no other symptoms and it very well could have been something else. Plus other moms might be wodnering the same thing....
Obviously, you cant give a newborn a bottle of cranberry juice or something, but would drinking cranberry juice as a nursing mom maybe help prevent them? Just a thought....

Cari-mama to Eriq, Lile, Paikea, Kaidyn, and Mieke is here!! 2/9/10
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-22-2006, 03:39 AM

I just posted This link in another thread I found it very informative.

http://www.cps.ca/English/statements/FN/fn96-01.htm

As I said in the other thread I'm not a scientist but if I understand it correctly the best way to prevent UTIs is to put baby with momma instead of a germ ridden nursery.

Timmy's Mommy WARNINGyslexic typing with help of preschooler, beware of typos
Old 11-22-2006, 04:52 AM - Thread Starter

Ok, but that doesnt really help me personally. My babies are born at home...my dd never even saw a doctor until she was close to two months old and only then because she was still extremely jaundice. And I was mainly thinking about my girls....my ds never had any hint of a UTI as an infant....but I am open to info about both cause maybe one day I will actually have another son, lol. Anywho, no way did someone cause the UTI's in my kids. No hospitals, no doctors, just the midwives who only peeked once after they were born, never touching.

Old 11-22-2006, 06:09 PM