I am trying to convince my first family member to say NO to circumcision. - Mothering Forums
The Case Against Circumcision > I am trying to convince my first family member to say NO to circumcision.
wfuteach's Avatar wfuteach 11:51 AM 08-08-2007
After thinking over everything you guys said, I decided that even though it is hard for me, I wanted to say something to my cousin who is pregnant with a boy. She is 18 years old, and due in October.

I sent her a quick email to touch base, and then in there I also told her that I had a wealth of information on circumcision that I could share with her if she was interested, and that she could feel free to ask me any other questions about the issue if she had them (of course, I am still learning and would need you ladies to help me, if she did!). I then just told her that my husband and I had decided against circumcision after we had read through everything.

So, I kept it short and sweet to start, and we'll see if I get a response. If not, I think I might just send her the information anyway...if I can get up that much courage.

Thanks for helping to motivate me...this was hard for me to do...

ETA: I figured I was on a roll anyway, so I sent another email (a little more wordy) to another cousin who is PG with her first and isn't finding out what she is having. Fingers crossed there, too!

fruitful womb's Avatar fruitful womb 01:01 PM 08-08-2007
WOW!!!! Good Luck!! Thats great what your doing for your cousins!!!
Keep us posted okay?
kldliam's Avatar kldliam 04:31 PM 08-08-2007
Good for you Wfuteach!!! Trying to protect a little baby from this madness is a very noble thing to do.
Quirky's Avatar Quirky 06:21 PM 08-08-2007