Anyone else regretting a circ? Are newly enlightened folk welcome? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 07-17-2003, 12:45 PM - Thread Starter
Banned

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi, I'm new to the circ board and wanted to make sure I'm welcome before joining in. When my son was born in '99 I did some research (although the info I got was slanted i.e. circ= less infections, intact = more care blah blah) and finally decided not to decide - DH was the one in the house with a penis, so I thought he would have the most experience on the subject. He's circed, so we had DS circ'ed w/o anesthesia at the dr's recommendation because he was "fair skinned" and the anesthesia could cause "complications" (my first huge regret and my first firm decision on the subject - penis of my own or not, all of my future sons would have anesthesia).

Now I'm learning a lot more about circ's (thanks to this board) and I really regret my son's and will need help convincing DH if we are ever blessed with another son. I also fully intend to explain to my son about circ, why and how it was done, and suggest that he not circ his children.

So are people who have changed their mind about circ welcome? Are there other people who regret a circ posting to this board?

I do think this board is great, and I understand if I'm not welcome - I don't expect to be welcomed everywhere I go. If that's the case, I'll go back to being the quiet lurker with no hard feelings.
#2 of 22 Old 07-17-2003, 02:15 PM
Banned

We're glad to have you here! Your future son(s) will benefit from the knowledge you have gained.

Yes, others on this board have circ'd son(s) and now regret it. We're all learning together.

Fortunately I had my children in this order: girl, then boy, so that by the time I had my boy, I was educated enough on this issue. Otherwise I might have been in your shoes.
#3 of 22 Old 07-17-2003, 03:22 PM

welcome to the board
sara
#4 of 22 Old 07-17-2003, 03:38 PM