Intro and a question - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 01-11-2004, 11:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi everyone. I am new to this particular forum but I lurk a lot on MDC. I wanted to ask a question about this circ video.
http://www.intact.ca/video.html
I posted the link on a mom's board I am part of and was quickly inboxed by someone saying it was in poor taste and not an accurate portrayal.
What do you think? Have any of you seen a circ in person?
#2 of 11 Old 01-12-2004, 12:33 AM

Unfortunately this is a very accurate portrayal of what a circumcision is. This video was filmed not far from where I live in 1998. Apparently a topical anesthetic was applied by obviously had little affect. Here is a history of the video,
http://www.intact.ca/videohis.html

I do agree however that it is in poor taste, not the video, or to try to educate parents to what circumcision really is by posting the video, but the circumcision of baby boys.

What is even worse is that most babies recieve inadequate pain relief, or none at all.

http://www.cnn.com/HEALTH/9712/23/ci...tic/index.html

http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/article/2036-2511.html

Good for you for trying to share knowlege with people, even if they don't want to hear it.

Take care,
Tara

Tara Momma to Callum and Gavin
#3 of 11 Old 01-12-2004, 01:13 AM

NAK

that's the same video that i refernce on my webpage. i sent it to my cousin who was expecting a boy, and she circ'd anyway b/c she didn't believe circ was really as bad as that video made it look. WTF? i still don't get why ppl think it's just a rosey walk in the park to get circ'd...and then you show them the reality of it, and they totally reject it.

good for you for trying to educate ppl. just keep at it. eventually we can get this absurd practice stopped all together.

~Christy crochetsmilie.gif, mom to DD Sage (12-2003) joy.gif and DS Isaac (04-2012)  babyboy.gif, wife to Josh geek.gif.