looking for more info.... - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 02-11-2004, 03:36 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My first boy is due April 16. I've been reading on this quite a bit, but there are some things I still want to know (not to make the final decision - we are leaving him intact - but just to know and share with people if need be).

I know religious issues are not battled out here, but I would like to know more about what the bible says about it all. If anyone has a link to some great info, I'd appreciate it

I'm also interested in what the history of circing is, like for what reasons people did it. I don't have much faith in doctors, never have. I'm a psych student, and it amazes me that people once thought bloodletting and drilling holes in peoples heads "cured" them. I'm curious to see what reasons there were for starting circs.

Any other good sites you can recommend would be great too!
#2 of 4 Old 02-11-2004, 09:50 AM

Jodi-

If your question is related to christianity, I would be happy to send you a PM with some of my ideas about how circumcision and christianity apply to the "new covenant", and I can also give you some web refrences. I won't be able to do it till later, so just tell me if that is what your question relates to.

I used to live in Europe and I assure you- they are totally comfortable theologicly with their intact penises. The christians who brought christianity to the Americas were also intact- for several CENTURIES before circumcision was introduced here. It's like circumcision took a big nap for almost 2000 years, then a few quacks get it going here and suddenly all the christians are looking to the bible hoping their circumcisions are somehow more meaningful- when they, as the bible verse says, ARE NOTHING.

Love Sarah
#3 of 4 Old 02-11-2004, 09:52 AM

http://www.cirp.org/library/history/gollaher/