My little guy and his penis - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 25 Old 07-29-2010, 12:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Whenever the diaper is off. My son(8mo) gets excited to grab himself. We have to keep moving his hand away to clean him. During bathtime, he sometimes doesnt leave it alone. He even bends in half to try to put it in his mouth.

My husband and I, feel like its inappropriate but know that he is a baby and let him explore himself.
I was a nurse in pediatrics for 7yrs. Changed lots of little boy diapers and never noticed a little boy so eager to grab himself.

Is this because my son is intact and has more sensations than most? Is this why culture started circing little boys, to control them from touching themselves?

Mama to & +:::
#2 of 25 Old 07-29-2010, 12:35 PM

I dunno. I think it's pretty normal for little boys to play with their penis, foreskin or no foreskin.
#3 of 25 Old 07-29-2010, 12:44 PM

Awe! I would say its just a phase (well, in my experience its a lifelong phase that lasts right through adulthood )
My boys both were OBSESSED from the moment they discovered it. Every diaper change they were all over it. Then it sorta phased out until we started potty learning then, whoa, all over again. Now they can acheieve moderate erections and make them move w/o using their hands.

I know its sounds a bit much...but it is normal exploration and is also whats intended naturally to help losen their foreskin over time.

wife & mum to 9yo dd, 7yo ds1 & 5yo ds2 and our rescue dog Roger!
#4 of 25 Old 07-29-2010, 02:05 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
i agree it's normal. & ds 2 has tried to bend over to get his mouth on it

sus

Baby the babies while they're babies so they don't need babying for a lifetime.
#5 of 25 Old 07-29-2010, 02:28 PM

According to Wikipedia at least, circumcision has historically been a means to curtail masterbation:

Quote: