So so sad and full of guilt and remorse... - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 38 Old 09-29-2010, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello ladies,

I am the mom of a beautiful, strong 5 month old boy.
I am also a medical student.
Prior to giving birth, mine and my husband's (who was circ'd as a baby) views on circumcision were purely based on medical "facts" and social norms and we didn't really think twice about having the procedure done to our soon. I knew the physician who would be performing it very well, and I had seen many done and the babies seemed to do fine afterwards. There was so much I did not know.
I am normally a very inquisitive, research-minded person, and like so many moms before me I researched anything and everything baby-related except this most important issue. I remember one day going to a medical site just to be certain that I was still in line with my spposed "pros" to circumcision and still on board and I was satisfied. No anti-circ materials every appeared to me and I didn't even know the movement existed. I honestly thought that when parents refused it in the hospital, it was an irresponsible choice they would later pay for. That was further solidified by my experience with a 7 y/o boy with phimosis who later required surgery, which I assisted in. I thought "poor fools" who didn't circ their son. That will luckily not happen to us.
When my DS was born, I didn't change many diapers at first. I think subconsciously I was staying away from his penis before it looked the way it was "supposed to." I was tired and mostly let others take the diaper changing duties but I remember glancing and thinking that it wasn't yet complete because it wasn't circ'd. I am so ashamed.
Everything was fine for three months, and as I began to research the topic of adhesions because I thought my son was getting some, I was bombarded with the no-circ literature and my heart was changed.