Keeping foreskin healthy in cloth - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 11-06-2010, 09:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting here. I have a 2 yo intact DS, and one on the way who will also be intact. I feel so lucky to have gotten the information about circ when I did - i.e., before I did it to my sons!

My dilemma, which I'm hoping someone can help with: we also use cloth diapers during the day. For a while, we've been using the Seventh Generation disposables at night, because DS was such a heavy wetter that no cloth could hold him. A couple of months ago, I found some CD's that were absorbent enough to last us all night, and was thrilled. We started using them every night, and he was fine, although the ammonia smell was breathtaking in the morning. His foreskin started looking red after a couple weeks, and then swollen. Eventually we found that it was so infected that it required a course of antibiotics (the first he's ever had) to clear it up. Since then, we're back to cloth in the day, 'sposies at night, but I would really love to be using cloth at night, too, and figure out the problem!

Here are the possibilities I've come up with:

1. It was unrelated to the switch and just poor timing.
2. The dipes weren't getting entirely clean and bacteria grew in them. DH does them at work where there's a toploading washing machine, and I'm not entirely sure what his washing routine is (I appreciate his help infinitely, but he does tend to tweak things ). Since then, I've become MUCH more OCD about how he is washing them, and have a bleaching/stripping schedule so that diapers are bleached every two weeks and stripped once a month.
3. These diapers closed with a Snappi, and we were super-stuffing them. Could the combined pressure of the snappi and extra stuffing put too much pressure on his penis, resulting in irritation which then let a little bit of bacteria in?