Circumcision - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 24 Old 05-31-2003, 10:07 PM - Thread Starter
Banned

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi,
I would like all the expecting parents to know that the U.S. is the only country in the world that circumcises baby boys for no reason.
No one in all of Europe circumcises unless they are Jews or Moslims.
I work in a hospital maternity ward and I see so many baby boys still being circumcised and I wonder why? The baby is born exactly the way God or nature intended him to be. There is no reason to do surgery on a brand new healthy infant.
Of course doctors make good money from the sugery. And the foreskin is sold for profit.
But those poor babies. I see them being tortured by this procedure. There is no real anaesthesia to prevent the pain. I know that for a fact.
They tell the parents the surgery is minor and necessary to prevent cancer. But circumcised males can still get cancer. And that is so rare, that it would make more sense to remove all the breast tissue of a baby boy because there is more breast cancer in boys than penile cancer. Imagine that!
HIV/AIDS is not contracted by the foreskin. The majority of European males are genitally intact and there is far less HIV/AIDS in Europe than in the U.S.
Urinary Tract Infection is another reason doctors say is a reason. But baby girls get three times more UTI than baby boys and we don't do surgery on them. Just breast feed.
Cleanliness is a stupid reason to do surgery for. After all, the foreskin is tightly attached to the head (glans) until the boy is about 5 years old and it should never be pushed back. It protects from bacteria, dirt, germs, etc. When the foreskin get loose, the boy can rinse under it while he is in the tub, just like he would rinse his eye lids or behinde the ears, or any other body part.