My daughter has mumps - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 01-22-2009, 10:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is my first time posting, but I have lurked on this board for well over a year.

I have a daughter that turned one last December. I was really hesitant about vaxing and originally planned on delaying all vaxes until she was 2. I came across this board, and after listening to all of you and following all of the direction you provided to research (along with much of my own), dh and I decided that we will not be vaxing any of our children, ever.

It was largely thanks to all of you that we had the courage to stand up to our doctor (who is actually quite supportive) and say that we weren't vaxing her. It was also thanks to all of you that when I realized dd probably had the mumps a few days ago, I wasn't panicked and also felt secure and informed enough to walk into the pedi office and hold my head high.

We are doing the proper blood work to make sure that it doesn't turn into anything else (meningitis and a few other things), but felt terrific about our decision not to vax! Dd is a little puffy and her sleep is pretty rough at night, but other than that, she is in great spirits! The doctor and nurses kept saying they couldn't believe how happy she was

Anyway, I really wanted to come out from the shadows to thank everyone for taking the time to post your experiences and thoughts, and to share all of your research. You have made a tremendous impact on my life and on my daughter's (and all of our future children).
#2 of 15 Old 01-22-2009, 10:19 PM

Congratulations! I wish we were neighbors so that you could share with us.
#3 of 15 Old 01-22-2009, 11:28 PM

Quoted: 8 Post(s)
By the way, since she is only one years old, she is too young to get the MMR, which is supposed to protect against it. I had mumps at age ten years; I looked like a chipmunk. That was before the vaccine was even developed.