What Would You Do and Why? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-11-2009, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello, I am new to MDC and this is my first time ever to post a message on a forum! I moved to Japan to live here over a year ago (I am American, my DH is Japanese).

I recently gave birth here. DS is my first child and is now 4 months old. Here in Japan (and I believe throughout Asia as well) everyone gets the BCG vaccine. I have already received papers about getting it done for his 4 month checkup.

I was considering the non-vaccinating position. However, a Japanese acquaintance mentioned that if DS doesn't get the BCG, and gets sick, it can result in sterility. She knew of that happening to someone, from what I understand. That made my Japanese FIL encourage me to go get the vaccine.

Last month when DS was 3 months old, he got sick twice, even though he is EBF. The first was nasal congestion, slight runny nose; the second was more serious, a suddenly high fever that twice almost went to 40 degrees C (104 degrees F)! Although he is now fine, having gone through such a harrowing experience of tending a sick baby especially at such a young age made me even more unsure about not vaccinating. Now I am wavering about the BCG.

As for my own personal experience with TB, I had always tested negative for it. But then in 2001, I started working with just a handful of immigrants (the same immigrants every week) in a volunteer position and when I took the TB test again in 2003 it was positive (exposure to the germ only, but no illness). So I am wary of being in Asia with a non-vaxed baby.

Any of you have personal experiences or just any other information/opinions to share? Would any of you non-vaccinating parents change your mind wrt the BCG vaccine for your lo were you to move to Asia to live, where there is a higher chance of getting the illness?

I would love to hear from you. TIA!
Sponsored Links