Series of shots question - alert- confusing question - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-16-2010, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
DKL

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi,

There was a post on here about being worried during the day about vaxing and then at night being more worried about NOT vaxing that I could relate with 100%. So I have this question that I hope I word correctly - my background is that I started doing the Dr. Stephanie Cave’s delayed vax schedule at age 4 months for my son, did his 2nd DTaP shot at 5 months and then stopped all together though I still go to the Wellness visits, etc. My son is now coming up on his 2 year old Wellness visit and I have a question for the Pedi but do not know how to word it….My question is at what age would I not pursue a series of shots (in this case lets use DTaP) due to age of child? Translation: my son got the first two DTaP vax’s but obviously not the last two so does a Pedi say to catch up even though the child is past the “risk” point (infant) and/or if the shots series is not done during the CDC schedule (in this case 2,4,6 months) then would the other 2 shots be worthless?

What I am trying to do is come up with an explanation to defend my position on non vaxing b/c I know the Pedi will ask me again have I thought about it and the answer is “Yes, I think about it EVERY day”. I hope this comes across as trying to learn why I would go back in time if my child is past the “recommended schedule”. I have for a time kept my sanity by thinking inwardly “The risks outweigh the benefits of not vaxing”. But I worry.

Thank you in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-17-2010, 03:54 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Looks like rotavirus and hib are the only 2 that are specifically for little infants- which I could see the pedi not bothering about.

You can skip one dose if they are vaccinated after age 4

Diphtheria and tetanus toxoids and acellular pertussis vaccine (DTaP).