Preschool questions - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 04-03-2011, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My ped. is pushing the HIB shot for when my daughter enters preschool/daycare this summer.  She will be three this summer and I am just beginning to wean her from BF, what is her risk of HIB at this point?  Is it something to consider?  I have completely declined the PC13 against her wishes and she is still adamant about HIB infections until the age of 5, any info or hard stats. would be greatly appreciated

#2 of 4 Old 04-03-2011, 10:58 PM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)

I don't have any stats, so right now my source is "random heresay I've heard around these forums" ;) But I was under the impression that the risk of a serious, invasive hib infection for an otherwise healthy child over 2 is pretty much nil. 

dd (7) ds (5), ds (2) &3rdtri.gif hbac.gif and the furbabies cat.gifZeus, Dobby, Luna, & Ravenclaw
#3 of 4 Old 04-04-2011, 03:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lisa1977 View Post

My ped. is pushing the HIB shot for when my daughter enters preschool/daycare this summer.  She will be three this summer and I am just beginning to wean her from BF, what is her risk of HIB at this point?  Is it something to consider?  I have completely declined the PC13 against her wishes and she is still adamant about HIB infections until the age of 5, any info or hard stats. would be greatly appreciated