I'm new to the world of Parenting (and vaccinations) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 05-27-2011, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi everybody. A friend told me about this site and thought it would help in all the decisions I have ahead of me. I've been reading some threads and I'm glad I joined, because i can certanly use the support.

I just had my first baby in March. She's just about to turn 3 months old (where does the time go?). I've been questioniong vaccines since long before I was even married, but didn't truly start to research it until little Jersie Jean came into the world. I like to read a lot of the unbiased books and articles because I feel like it's good to understand both sides. I originally said absolutely NO vaccines until she was at least 1 year old. It doesn't seen crucial since she's not at daycare and is breastfed. But lately I've been questioning this decision. My husband has been researching with me and he feels that we should do selective - he doesn't feel comfortable with us getting NONE since out here (we live in Colorado) I dont have proper care for that. There are no holistic doctors or child chiropracters anywhere in the area. I would have to travel at least 2 hours to get to one. So what he wants us to do is to get the PC, DTaP, & HiB and that's all. Those seem to be the most commonly caught illnesses and the vaccines themselves seem to be safer than any others (although I question the DTaP even though I know the Whooping Cough is a pretty serious thing).