New York State NY Religious Exemption: Seeking Help - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 09-24-2011, 08:54 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello all, I am in upstate New York, not LI or the city. I am trying to write our religious exemption, but I do not know what to write, or possibly even more important, what not to write. I'm a little desperate for help. Does anyone have experience with this in NY? Thank you so, so much!

My best, SB

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 14 Old 09-24-2011, 02:38 PM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)

If you can afford it, I recommend getting help from an attorney, because vaccine exemptions in New York can be very tricky.

I found this one from an internet search. I have no experience with this law office.

http://www.patriciafinnattorney.com/vaccine-practice/

#3 of 14 Old 09-24-2011, 05:10 PM

Before you contact a lawyer you need to contact Gary Krasner.  He runs a group in NY called CFIC - Coalition for Informed Choice and he helps people in NY state obtain religious waviers for school.  Here's his info:

Gary Krasner, Director
Coalition For Informed Choice
188-34 87th Drive, suite 4B
Holliswood, NY 11423
718-479-2939
[email protected]

Good luck!
#4 of 14 Old 09-25-2011, 09:23 AM

New York exemptions can be tricky because school officials may challenge the sincerity of your request for a recommendation.  If your reasons for seeking the exemption are bona fide religious, then you should not have a problem.  Just write a request for an exemption explaining why your religious beliefs forbid immunization. 

If you have health concerns about vaccines, make sure you talk to your doctor before getting the exemption because you are leaving your child open to contracting potentially dangerous diseases by not vaccinating.