do the benefits really outweigh the risks? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 03-31-2012, 12:39 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Bear with me. I'm still figuring this out in my head, so I don't know if it will translate properly.

"The benefits outweigh the risks" is often espoused by proponents of vaccinations. The risks are illness, disease, and ultimately death. They have come to the conclusion that their child is less likely to die from the vaccine than from the disease, correct?

I am not a scientist, and I'm just now reading this information for the first time tonight so I could be wrong and am open to correction.

According to the link below, there were 300 injury and 74 death cases about the DTaP brought to the vaccine court in 2010. 106 of them were compensated. Since it's about 1/3 of the total (and I don't think the dismissed case automatically means it wasn't a vaccine injury), let's assume 1/3 of the deaths were compensated, so 25. At least 25 people died in 2010 from a reaction to the DTaP.

http://thenatureofreality.com/HRSA%20-%20National%20Vaccine%20Injury%20Compensation%20Program.pdf

According to this website, which seems researched and is definitely pro-vaccine, about 10 people die a year from pertussis.

http://www.sciencebasedmedicine.org/index.php/pertussis-epidemic-2010/

And according to the WHO, there were 0 reports of tetanus in 2008 and 2009 (data not in for 2010)

http://apps.who.int/immunization_monitoring/en/globalsummary/timeseries/tsincidencette.htm

And 0 reports of diptheria since 2004 (only 1 in 2003)

http://apps.who.int/immunization_monitoring/en/globalsummary/timeseries/tsincidencedip.htm

I think that means if you are looking at the risks to your child, and if I am making sense out of this, they would have a greater chance at suffering a vaccine injury or death from the DTaP, than dying from diptheria, tetanus, or pertussis.