why do you choose not to vaccinate? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 27 Old 06-16-2013, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi. I'm a nurse who is doing research regarding the decision by some parents not to vaccinate their children. While I, personally, believe that vaccination is the right choice, I'm not here to lecture or argue. In a way, I'm hoping that you'll educate me. Please explain, in as much detail as you reasonably can, why you choose not to vaccinate, to delay vaccination, or to avoid certain vaccines. If you have an indisputably valid medical reason for not vaccinating, like an allergy to eggs or a history of confirmed reactions to vaccines, this is aimed less at you, but you are more than welcome to contribute.

• Is there a specific vaccine ingredient that worries you? Which one(s) and why?
  • Do you have a moral, ethical or religious objection to vaccination itself and/or particular vaccines? Please elaborate.
  • Do you doubt the effectiveness of vaccines or generally feel that the risks outweigh the benefits? If so, why?
  • Is there someone you know or something you've heard/read in particular that you convinced you not to vaccinate? Who/what was it and why did it work?
  • If doctors or other healthcare professionals have tried to convince you to vaccinate, why were they unable to convince you? Is there something about them or their arguments that you found untrustworthy?
  • If you can imagine yourself being convinced to vaccinate your children, what would it take to convince you?

In short, I suppose I'm wondering what convinced you not to vaccinate and why it worked. Thanks in advance.

#2 of 27 Old 06-16-2013, 05:19 PM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)