I need advice please. What made you feel comfortable with deciding not to vaccinate? How do I feel comfortable that my child won't get seriously ill or die? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 06-19-2013, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello, I am new to Mothering.com and I would really appreciate your opinions and advice.  I have a 10 month old, and I have been researching the vaccination issue for several months.  I have found pretty compelling information for both sides of the issue. I don't feel comfortable vaccinating and I want to make that my decision. I am having trouble with my decision now, because I still have fear that she could get sick and possibly die.  No matter how much evidence I read and/or hear, I still feel very afraid.  I hope that some of you can relate, and can help me calm those fears.  What helped you overcome that fear? And what makes you feel totally confident about your decision? Thank you.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 15 Old 06-19-2013, 11:32 AM

I should mention that even though I have done some research on vaccines (but not nearly as much as some people on here) the main reason for declining vaccines was more religious than scientific. Then again, perhaps if the evidence that they are safe was there I would have more to think about... but it isn't lol.

Regardless of your reasoning I feel that the most important thing is that YOU have peace with your decision. It doesn't matter what your family, friends, or society thinks. We are each responsible for ourselves (and children up until a certain age.)

I think the most important thing is some sort of centering-prayer, meditation, automatic writing etc. Realize your own fears and know that you are doing what you believe to be best for your family. As far as feeling 100% confident... I don't really feel 100% about anything, lol. I just try to accept that and move forward from there.