Talking about vaxing with friends - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 27 Old 06-25-2008, 11:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi! Newbie here!

I mainly lurk but I am trying to post more.

So my question to you guys.

Does the weird feeling ever leave when you are talking (about vaxing) with someone who does vax and they know you don't?

I don't know many people, maybe 1 or 2 that don't vax. I feel weird about it sometimes. Maybe it is just from me. I am a people pleaser and I don't want to be the weird lady (although I am). I pretty much do things differently than all my friends. I am trying to find some friends that I have more in common with as far as child raising goes. And I do want to maintain my friendships with my other friends too.

Thanks! I look foward to chatting with you again!

Rebekah married to Justin Mama to Jonah and Josiah
#2 of 27 Old 06-25-2008, 11:32 PM

I know exactly what you mean. I could have written your post with my first but then my second came a long, I did a lot of research and so did dh, we were like loaded guns and totally prepared to fire off at anyone who wanted to argue. It helped (not that I am happy about this) that my dh's cousins fully vaxed their kids and all of them came down with whooping cough, ours remained healthy and fine. When I say helped I mean that my dh's parents finally laid off as they are/were big believers in vax. If there is one thing that I have learned about mothering, it is at some point better for everyone when you can stop people pleasing. Not judging, I have totally been there but when I realized that it is only myself and my family that I need to please it took a lot of pressure off a lot of issues, including NIP, not circing, not vaxing, speaing up to protect my kids, etc, etc...
#3 of 27 Old 06-26-2008, 11:04 AM