Could they ever make us vaccinate? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 37 Old 09-08-2008, 09:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm still relatively new to this whole vax/not vax situation. My daughter is only 12 weeks old and she has had no vaccines. With this presidential election coming up and all the media hype lately over vaccines and bad mouthing of non-vaxers do you think they(the gov) could ever make us vax? Like take away religious exemption or something? I know I am just being paranoid but I already feel like the world is against me so I am just wondering if it might get difficult for us non-vaxers in the future?! Do you all wonder about this too?
And who knows .... maybe it will go in the other direction...with all this media attention maybe it will come to light how questionable vaccines really are!!
#2 of 37 Old 09-08-2008, 10:22 PM

Good question. I think only time will tell. I don't know if they would take religious exemption away only because it would cause an uproar w/us, but they could make it harder to get a religious exemption. Crack down on the ones using it as an excuse to not vaccinate.
#3 of 37 Old 09-08-2008, 10:45 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaycon View Post
Good question. I think only time will tell. I don't know if they would take religious exemption away only because it would cause an uproar w/us, but they could make it harder to get a religious exemption. Crack down on the ones using it as an excuse to not vaccinate.

: not sure if they would take the waiver away, but may make it EXTREMELY hard to get one.

single mommy to identical twin girls (3/06) Non-traditional mama just : through life.
#4 of 37 Old 09-09-2008, 11:22 PM

I absolutely think they would take the religious exemptions away. Two states (I think) already don't offer them. IMO, it's a matter of time. But I think that time is several years away.