Possessions that have lasted longer than expected. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-24-2009, 02:01 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Tell me about things that you own that have remained useful for longer than you expected.

I'll start with my planner, which my grandparents gave me as a graduation gift in 1994. It's some sort of black vinyl or fake leather, and it looks about the same as when I first rec'd it. It has openable binder rings so I can replace pages as needed. I keep my address book, 12-page month calendar, daily to-do pages, birthdays, misc lists, and misc papers I need for a short term project handy in it. I just realized recently that I've been using the same planner for almost 15 years! I have no desire to get a new one.

So, what do you own and use regularly that has lasted a long time?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-24-2009, 02:04 AM

I have a toaster oven that my parents bought in the mid 70's, and that I took with me to college. It STILL works great. Unbelievable!

Ann-Marita. I deleted my usual signature due to, oh, wait, if I say why, that might give too much away. 

Old 01-24-2009, 02:11 AM

loving this thread..

my auntie passed on to me my great gramas sieve(spelling?) (hand crank sifter thing) i don't sift stuff ingredients for baking very often but i do once in a while and it works amazingly well. the best use ive found for it..once my local health food store guy had a huge bag of spelt flour that he got but it was too coarsly ground and he gave me a huge bag. i sifted it all and got TONS of flour and lots of slightly bigger grounds that are gtreat in bread and muffins and stuff. not only that but it sits in a special place in my kitchen to remind me of the beautiful woman in my family down through the generations.

Quote:
Once in while you get shown the light in the strangest of places if you look at it right....

Old 01-24-2009, 07:33 AM