Baby steps to greener pastures - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 03-11-2012, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am new to this section, and could probably do a lot of reading and get the same information, but I'm posting a thread so a) I don't have to do as much work shy.gif and b) public decrees make me feel more accountable to my actions!

I am trying to make small, steady changes to greenify my life, become more socially and environmentally conscious and responsible. I come from a very far from crunchy place, and DH even more so. But I'm finding it less and less daunting to make big changes, and I feel like I am on a roll, so I am looking for some inspiration to keep going. So far we have switched to organic fruits and veggies from a CSA, organic local meats, relying less on prepared foods and more on homemade (I canned for the first time this year! Woo!), and making bread is on my short-list. I just ordered some Lunapads and a Diva cup, I am planning the no-poo switch imminently for myself and DD (and DH if I can get buy-in). We are using less paper products around the house, so definitely making a complete shift to no paper towel and to family cloth is on the list. We are going to try growing veggies for the first time this year. I am trying to curb my shopping habits, but that one is hard. At least I am trying, in general, to reduce buying new. I have just learned to crochet and plan to learn to sew, which will hopefully replace my shopping need if I can make instead (and repurpose fabrics instead of buying new). I just read about making greener toothbrush choices. Any recommendations? Oh, and I will be moving to homemade cleaning products as I run out.

Any suggestions on what to do next? I feel like I have planned more than I have accomplished, but since I have a fair bit planned and feel like they are all reasonable goals, I need to set my sights on the next steps. Thank you for reading!!