Swelling..... - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 20 Old 11-28-2008, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been getting some significant swelling in my feet and legs worsening this past week. I've been off work all this week and really taking it easy so I am surprised the swelling is getting worse. They are monitoring my blood pressure closely as it is slightly high at this time...so that probably is not helping. My question is Im a nurse and will be going back to work next week which means I will be on my feet alot. Im trying to work as close to baby arrival as possible...although it is getting much more difficult . Is there anything that can help with the swelling other than getting your feet up and watching sodium intake?

2/07; First time momma to Colton 12/10/08
#2 of 20 Old 11-28-2008, 11:31 AM

Sometimes not getting enough soldium will cause your body to retain fluids (wish I'd known this with my other 2 pgs!). Also, swimming, or even just soaking in a bath with some epsom or sea salts can help. A tea comtaining red raspberry leaf, dandelion root, and nettle leaves can help, and/or alfalfa tea/capsules. Watermelon and cantaloupe are also natural diuretics. Best wishes (I'm dealing with this, too- blech!)
#3 of 20 Old 11-28-2008, 12:05 PM

If you increase you sodium intake a little with a natural sea salt...sorry not the little blue box with the umbrella girl on it...it can make a difference. Being in the water will help you rid your body of excess water. like metioned above swimming, warm bath, and adding some epsom salts can help too. The teas mentioned are good too.
#4 of 20 Old 11-28-2008, 12:06 PM

Oh yeah one more thing..add more protien maybe some almonds (unsalted) or a protien that is natrally lower in sodium. (not pork)
#5 of 20 Old 11-28-2008, 02:53 PM

You can also try compression stockings.
#6 of 20 Old 11-28-2008, 03:03 PM

compression stockings and WATER - LOTS OF WATER.