Having surgery - worried about pain meds & bfing - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-06-2009, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm having surgery on Tuesday and the dr gave me an rx for percocet. I'm worried about taking it while bfing. The dr says it's not a big deal since I'm not on it long term, etc, but still...I worry. I was on percocet for 1.5 yrs (almost daily) for a shoulder injury.I weaned myself off of it about 6 wks prior to getting pregnant. (I'm not worried about addiction, etc). I took Vicodin for after pains after I had DD3 (not knowing then what I know now...) She was fine but still...

I'm having a laparoscopic tubal band surgery - has anyone done this? Was the pain worse than afterpains...I managed that ok this time with just Tylenol.

ADDED: Has anyone had general anesthesia while breastfeeding? I've never used it as I've never had surgery before. The closer I get to Tuesday, the more nervous I am.

TIA!

If this thread needs to be moved, I wasn't sure if should be here or not.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-07-2009, 12:26 AM

you'll be fine with it - that's what i took after surgery.
as long as it's not for **long** term it shouldn't even hurt your milk supply. Dr. Searshas some good practical advice about bfing with meds, which i can look up for you if you can't find it on the net.

Mama to 3 girls 12,8,3
Old 02-07-2009, 12:10 PM

I don't have specific information but good luck!

Walking in the light with DH, DD (11/08), DS (4/10) , four dogs, and one insouciant cat.
Old 02-07-2009, 01:55 PM

I had surgery (under general) and BF'd while on percocet. I also had morphine and BF'd shortly after.

DS1 2-17-07 DS2 1-1-09
mdcblog5.gif
Old 02-07-2009, 03:13 PM