first mammography? what age? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 04-09-2002, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello,

my mother thinks i should get my first mammography now even though i have no health concerns now, because she says it is good for doctors to be able to compare my normal breast to anything unnatural in the future. i am 30 years old and have no family history. i eat a vegetarian diet, don't drink cows milk, and try to eat as natural and as healthy as i can. what do you all think?
#2 of 6 Old 04-10-2002, 03:28 AM

Hi there! I'm a mammography tech. (semi-retired so maybe I can help ya out a bit. I do know that ACR and ACS guidelines don't reccomend any screening for asymptomatic females w/no family history until at least 35. Depending on who you ask, the consensus is generally 35-40 for the first screening, then between 40-50 either every year or every 2 years, then annually after 50.
Some things to keep in mind:

Younger women generally have denser breast tissue, which makes the films much more difficult to read and obtain an accurate diagnosis from. This gives younger patients a much higher false-positive rate. The false-positive rate for mammography is VERY high to begin with.

Although older women get breast cancer more often, the cancers in younger women tend to be more aggressive (if they are estrogen-dependent tumors)

If you are concerned about radiation, keep in mind that it's effect is cumulative- it adds up throughout life. Mammography is low-dose now, but still radiation all the same.