2 year old with fever.....what natural thing to give her? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 05-02-2009, 03:11 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm new to the herbal/natural treatment stuff. My 2 year old came down with a 103 fever yesterday. We're leaving for vacation on Monday and her doctor is now closed. So I would have to take her to urgent care and sit in a germ infested waiting room.

My cousin suggested Phytocillin. Would this be effective for a 2 year old with a fever? I dont know if she has a virus, strep, ear infection, or what. I'll probably take her to see her regular doctor on Monday morning before we leave on our trip. But would you use Phytocillin for your two year old with a fever? Or is there something else you would use? Or just wait to see her pediatrician?

Kinda crunchy mama to my 3 DD's (ages 7, 4, and 6 weeks)

#2 of 7 Old 05-02-2009, 07:57 PM

103 temp you should take her to the hospital. I'm surprised her doctor does not have an emergency number to call. My natural/alternative medicine book about children says "Children with temperatures above 102F, which may lead to febrile seizures, need medical intervention."

My sister-in-law's little girl had a high fever, and fearing the same issue as you "taking her in to a germ laden emergency room' sat out in their car until the emergency room nurse phoned her to bring the child right in. Maybe you could do the same if you have a cell phone.
#3 of 7 Old 05-03-2009, 12:09 AM

At 103 I would leave it be. 103 would NOT even when I did use mainstream medicine even set off my hospital radar.

My personal comfort zone is 104/105 during the day and 103 at night. When it hits that I give motrin to bring the fever down. Some people's comfort zone before giving motrin 103.