I NEED help with a sore throat at 11 weeks pregnant. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 06-15-2009, 10:15 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm 11 weeks pregnant tomorrow with baby #2. I haven't been to a midwife yet as we are still interviewing.
I picked up a bug of some sort last Saturday, over a week ago. The only thing that hurts is my throat and it is horrible. I am not a doctor person and being pregnant I didn't want antibiotics or anything so I have tried to ride it out. I can't take it anymore. I have to be on tylenol 24 hours and it hardly touches the pain. I got some throat spray too but that doesn't help much either. We don't have insurance either so I know it would be a whooper amount to go to an Urgent Care or something. I started to gargle salt water today because someone suggested that too.
My dh things it is a bacterial infection of my tonsils. What else can I do. I thought today that I was getting better but I just woke up from a nap with dd and I'm dying in pain. It almost feels like my teeth hurt on the one side that is so aweful at the moment. Should I give in and go to Urgent Care anyway.
I do have cephalexin. I used to have a sick dog and he didn't finish his meds (died of cancer) so I have some. Should I medicate myself? I'd just hate to hurt the baby by not doing anything at all.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 06-15-2009, 10:19 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nonie's mom View Post
I'm 11 weeks pregnant tomorrow with baby #2. I haven't been to a midwife yet as we are still interviewing.