The Cod Liver Oil Thread - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 97 Old 09-07-2009, 10:30 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Every time I hop on MDC & cruise through the H&H, Nutrition & TF forums, I see multiple new threads about cod liver oil. Some are about which brand to buy, some are about dosages. I used to read & respond to the threads I saw, but there are just too many now. I'm not an expert on cod liver oil & I'm not a health care practitioner. But I do try to keep up to date with the news about cod liver oil. I'll share some recent articles about CLO manufacturing & quality as well as what I give my own family.
*Please feel free to add to this information or correct me if I'm on the wrong path.

I thought it would be beneficial to have a thread dedicated to cod liver oil so people can find the latest information easily. I thought about posting this in the Traditional Foods forum, but there tend to be more CLO threads here in H&H.

This is an article written on April 30, 2009 by David Wetzel from Green Pasture's (manufacturer of Blue Ice CLO):

Update on Cod Liver Oil Manufacture

In this article, Dave explains the four categories of cod liver oil manufacturing. I can't post the whole article, so I'll post a couple of snippets.

Quote:
To summarize my findings, all the factories were engaged in industrial processing of cod liver oil, which involved alkali refining, bleaching, winterization and deodorization. Each of these steps, especially the deodorization, removes some of the precious fat-soluble vitamins, especially vitamin D. The resulting products can be divided into four categories.
Quote:
With only one factory still engaging in the relatively expensive process of adding natural vitamins back into processed cod liver oil, it was easy to see the handwriting on the wall. The odds that this factory would soon fall in with the others and start adding synthetic vitamins instead of natural ones were great.
*snip*