Crohn's help. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 02-16-2010, 08:27 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
I have been flaring since summer after 4 years of remission.

I currently take

A multivitamin with a B25 complex
3 Omega 3 caps
2 probiotic caps
6000 IU vitamin D

Slippery Elm musilage 2-3x a day

I dont eat meat, dairy or eggs, for my health, not for moral reasons.

I am willing to try other diets, or supplements.

I ordered some aloe vera caps to see if they will help.
I cook with turmeric as I know its a potent anti-inflammatory.

Me(33), Mama to a crazy DD (6), Wife to a wonderful mountain man(32) BF my babe for 2 years.
#2 of 6 Old 02-17-2010, 04:56 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Are you taking any medical treatments-- mesalamine, for example?

Have you seen the Specific Carbohydrate Diet? The diet is a complete 180 from the diet you seem to be describing. But a lot of us with inflammatory bowel disease (I have ulcerative colitis) have found a lot of relief with it. It takes commitment and can be hard to adjust to-- it involves eliminating certain carbohydrates that are difficult to digest, because the undigested carbohydrate feeds yeast in the gut. At least that's my understanding of it-- I know it's more complicated than that. I just know it works, and very well. I have been on it for two years, and off my immunosuppressant drug for 8 months against medical advice, and I'm doing well, and I recently reintroduced a few "forbidden carbohydrates" just to see how I tolerate them.

Are you using medical-grade probiotics? Have you seen VSL#3? The probiotic capsules that you can buy retail typically contain about a billion cultures. A capsule of VSL#3 contains 8 different organisms, and the highest concentration available-- 450 billion cultures per capsule.

Live-culture foods can help a lot, too. Honestly, I can't imagine managing IBD without home-cultured yogurt, for instance.