Alternative Treatment for Sinus/Ear Infection? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 02-19-2010, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My toddler had a cold that turned into a cough about a week ago. The cough has gotten worse in the last few days and he was playing with his ears a lot today. He has not run a fever, although he felt a tiny bit warm last night. He's generally in good spirits, no trouble nursing, etc. Over last summer this happened and I brought him into the doctor - he had a chest infection, throat infection, and ear infection! I was surprised because he had no fever and was happy and playful despite the cough. The doc prescribed antibiotics, which I gave him. I could take him in for more antibiotics again, but I would love to find out if there is another solution. Any suggestions? I'm very new to alternative medicine and know almost nothing, so any advice would be appreciated!
#2 of 13 Old 02-19-2010, 07:13 PM - Thread Starter

My son is 22 months old and when I say he is in good spirits, I mean that he is running around and playful. He might be a tiny bit more fussy or tired than usual, but still has a lot of energy and is generally pretty happy and talkative.
#3 of 13 Old 02-20-2010, 11:22 AM

My DS just had a double ear infection- we didn't do antibiotics, but we did do garlic/muelin drops and I squirted some breastmilk in his ears. I also got a homeopathic remedy from my chiro that I dropped on his tongue. I also did some massage of his sinuses and down the back of his neck to drain the lymph a bit.... I used melted coconut oil with a little lavender oil. I would start giving him probiotics now, antibiotics kill of the bad AND the good bacteria, so your LO will need to build back up all his good bacteria- which will also help him avoid more issues