cold? ear infection? infection? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-02-2002, 06:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am wondering.. short of a Dr's visit, is there any way to tell if my daughter has an ear infection? She's 10 months, stuffy, yucky hacking cough (wet) and now is holding her right ear a bit. Slight fever (101) and general yucky feeling. Isn't sleeping much to boot. This all came on overnight, what can I watch for to know if it merits a Dr's visit? (I dread the Dr....) What can I do to aid the healing process to make her more comfy (I'm new to the sick thing...)

Aly
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-03-2002, 01:31 AM

Hi Aly,
I did a search hoping to post a link to some info. When I used the words "ear infections" in the Health and Healimg Forum I came up with 57 theards about it. Too many to post links to!!
Try doing the search though, you'll find lots of info

!
peggy
Old 05-03-2002, 11:18 AM

If it all came on overnight, then it's probably fluid in the ear associated with a viral cold. A real ear infection doesn't usually happen until the end of the cold, if it happens at all. Ear discomfort during a cold or flu is not uncommon.

You could talk to your doctor about using a decongestant at night to help relieve some of the pressure on her eardrum while she is congested from the cold. I do this for my son, but we didn't start until he was after 18 months. I don't know at what age you can start using a decongestant.
Old 05-03-2002, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter

wowsers... I gave in and gave her some dimetap. Won't be doing that again, it made her twice as bad and jittery
I started taking some garlic pills, and I gave her a peppermint bath. it seems to be helping.
I think you're right... probably just ear discomfort. poor baby!
She also got diarhea now, but her general mood seems better .I hope she is recovering!

Aly
Old 05-03-2002, 02:27 PM