Low Thyroid Symptoms but "Normal" Blood Tests - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-17-2010, 07:23 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is going to be another monster thread, so get ready.

I've been researching thyroid issues for the last several months. I've been completely blown away by the many conditions that have been historically shown to be treated with natural thyroid hormone and thus seem to have their root cause in thyroid malfunction:
  • IBS, allergies and intolerances,
  • fibromyalgia and muscle abnormalities,
  • mitochondrial disorders,
  • chronic fatigue syndrome,
  • failure to thrive,
  • bone growth problems and teeth problems including cavities,
  • premature or delayed puberty,
  • human growth hormone deficiency,
  • chronic respiratory illness,
  • chronic skin disorders such as eczema, psoriasis et al,
  • hair loss and premature grey hair,
  • chemical and drug sensitivity... and many more.
How could this be?

Quote:
There isn't a cell between your hair and your toenails, that doesn't need thyroid, 24 hours a day. For proper oxidation of the fuel, and removal of the garbage. - Broda Barnes, MD
In traditional thyroid research starting early last century, doctors would remove the thyroid gland from animals and observe exactly what happened to them. They would then inject thyroid gland extract back into the animals and observe improvement of symptoms.

Quote:
... the baby rabbit, three weeks of age, was thyroidectomised... practically everything that you see in the human hypothyroid, can be demonstrated with the exception of the mental changes. For some reason or other, rabbits do not have, that many mental breakdowns. So, it was pretty well ingrained in me, what you might expect as a result of thyroid deficiency.