Baby Girl has Vaginal Yeast? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 10-02-2010, 02:32 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I think my 5 month old may have a vaginal yeast infection. She has seemed agitated the last few days, and today I noticed while changing her diaper that her vaginal area looks very red. I have been battling thrush off and on for several years now. (I took anti-biotics at her birth but haven't had any since.) I do take a strong probiotic. Any ideas for treating baby?

AP mama to two boys (5 , 3) fencing.gifand one sweet girl baby energy.gif
#2 of 8 Old 10-02-2010, 10:44 AM

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
A yeast infection in a baby is characterized by little red bumps/spots on the outer limit of the rash. If those are not there, it is unlikely to be a yeast infection.

I am in the same boat and looking for a way to treat my 6 mo old daughter. The doctor gave me a cream called Nystatin and that cleared things up for a short time, but when I stop using it, it comes back. All I keep getting is suggestions for more creams. I am looking for suggestions on other ways to treat/prevent yeast infections in a baby, too. So I will be checking on this thread!!!

Sewing, gardening, home birthing, co-sleeping, extended nursing, cloth diapering, baby-wearing, home schooling, attachment parenting busy mommy to dd1 (7), dd2 (4), ds (1) and two in heaven. 

#3 of 8 Old 10-03-2010, 02:48 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)