pretty sure I've got the flu - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 01-04-2011, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

coughing started Sunday (today's Tuesday - just over 48 hrs ago) and I thought it was a cold.  Then Monday I felt yucky/edgy and last night felt chills and achy all over and woke around 1am with 102.1 fever.  I'm kind of new to the "don't treat a fever" mentality but it makes sense to me.

But what can I do to feel better besides taking ibuprofen/acetaminophen?  I'm really close to taking some just to feel a bit better.  I've got a few herbs on hand in dry form: catnip, lemon balm, oatstraw, dandelion, red clover, alfalfa, plus I just got in the mail some astragalus extract by Herb Pharm and some Gaia Herbs Kids Echinacea Goldenseal Herbal Drops.  I have sodium ascorbate.  Does that help with the flu?  I actually started taking oscillo - the box marketed for kids, but it's the same ingredient, sprinkling and dissolving a few pillules(?) in a bottle of spring water and sipping that every few hours when I think of it but haven't noticed any relief :(  I didnt' start it until around 9am, though, and had already been feverish for about 12 hrs at that point, so maybe I was too slow to start... or I didn't do the water bottle thing the right way (wanted to save them as much as possible in case my kids or DH get sick).

So - any herbs or ideas?  I don't have chicken broth right now.  Also, how long can the fever last with the flu?  I'm hoping it'll break soon.  Of course I'm not certain I have the flu, but I don't think it's a cold nor do I have a sore throat.

blessed Catholic mommy to DD 10/07 and DS 2/09, little one due 8/12!

#2 of 4 Old 01-04-2011, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter