Infected, black blister on foot - red line climbing up leg - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 05-30-2011, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I went walking with my friend in some really tight, uncomfortable shoes, and I got a huge blister on my toe. I didn't think much of it - I get blisters all the time and they often just disappear - so I went swimming and didn't mess with it. I guess it burst somewhere in there and got heinously infected, because I got a 100 degree fever and a migraine, all the while my toe throbbing and swelling up. I went to the after-hours clinic nearby and they gave me some antibiotics, but the red line climbing up my ankle has gotten a lot more inflamed and the blister has turned black even though I've already taken three doses, I think, of both of the antibiotics prescribed to me. Also, now I'm continually throwing up, so I can't even keep them down anymore. I'm not a mother - I'm only eighteen - but I know you all are and my own mother doesn't really know where to go with this. Should I go to the emergency room or wait for the antibiotics to kick in, assuming I'll stop vomiting?

#2 of 6 Old 05-30-2011, 10:21 AM

Look there is a very good chance this post is a troll.  But in case it is not...

You need to get to the emergency room right away of course.  That red line is blood poisoning and if you delay it will kill you.

Seriously.  Go right now. 

#3 of 6 Old 05-30-2011, 10:26 AM

I would head into the ER, for sure. With your symptoms I would be worried about the infection being in the blood stream, and the antibiotics you're on are just not enough for something like that. This is definitely something that requires emergency treatment now!!

Good luck!!!

Liz om.gif Lovin' DH partners.gif DS (12) coolshine.gif and forever missing DD angel3.gif (12/02/07) ribbonpb.gif