Mothering Forum banner

Need tips!

966 views 9 replies 10 participants last post by  hippiemom 
#1 ·
Just found lice in my daughter's hair--this is the second time in 6 months and I am so horrified to have to go through this all over again. Hoping to avoid chemical stuff this time--please give me your best treatment tips. Thanks!!

#2 ·
Ive been told this is very effective - and it's natural with no chemicals

http://www.nitmix.com/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calliope85 View Post

We are having a never-ending nightmare with head lice and I'm desperate for some advice. We got it last year and successfully got rid of it relatively easily and quickly, so I thought I was a bit of a pro at it which makes this all the more frustrating.
It started 6 weeks ago and the first 4 weeks we did weekly Nix or Rid treatments. They say to do another treatment after 7-10 days if they return...so we kept doing them. All this time I was combing like crazy with the nit combs, doing all the laundry, etc.
I stopped at that point because I was sure that I had disrupted their life cycle. However, I started feeling like my head was itchy, and this past Sunday combed through and found some nits. I slathered our hair in mayo, covered it in plastic wrap, and left it on overnight(10 hours). In the morning, the pillows were crawling with lice nymphs. I have no idea what happened--they left the hair I guess? We rinsed our hair and then did a comb through and there were NO dead bugs.
The next day (Tuesday) I did one of the chemical shampoos and again there were no dead bugs that came out during the comb-through. I also washed EVERYTHING in the house, sprayed the couch and mattress, etc.
Today, Thursday, I did another thorough comb-through on my daughter and found just one egg. However, as I was combing through her hair, she points to her wrist and says, "Mom, is that a louse?" And there one was, walking up her arm.