Probiotics for an infant? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 09-17-2011, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am very new to the use of probiotics.  As I understand it, they are taken to boost one's immune system.  We are doing delayed/selective vaccinations, and my 8 month old DD still nurses quite a bit so she gets antibodies from me, but it has been recommended that she take probiotics.  Why would an infant need them?  She's never had antibiotics, and if I take them, wouldn't she  get what she needs from breastmilk?  I am not against the idea, but with a tight financial situation, I need to know more than just 'probiotics are good'.  

Any info on the use of probiotics for mama & babe is much appreciated.

TIA!

Loving this Mama's life!  toddler.gifgoorganic.jpgfamilybed1.gifnamaste.gif

#2 of 9 Old 09-18-2011, 04:15 PM

Location: A state whose Medicaid does not cover circumcision! :)

I have found that it is about health promotion as well as healing.  Probiotics can even be effective in healing some reactions to vaccines/damage caused by vaccines, in combination with other healing methods including a healthy diet.  They can help the immune system yes.  I also find that the rest of the child diet makes a difference.  If they eat a lot of "garbage" such as pop, candy, donuts, processed foods in general, then it is even more important for them to take them because those foods are very hard on the digestive system and is just terrible for the body in general.  If your child eats lots of fresh, raw organic food, then I would not be too concerned about it at this point.  Maybe when it is cold/flu season.

There is a huge thread here on MDC about probiotics but I can not remember what its called and can not find it, but I am sure it would be helpful to you.

#3 of 9 Old 09-18-2011, 06:19 PM